Timezone Watch of the Year 2011 Winner

Posted by Harry Bishop on Mar 1st, 2012
Mar 1

Image and text from TimeZone Industry News. My favorite of the year won!

The winner of the Watch of the Year award (WOTY) 2011 is Grönefeld.

Dutch watchmakers Tim and Bart Gronefeld presented in 2011 the “One Hertz”, the world’s first and only production wristwatch with independent dead seconds (secondes morte in French). The One Hertz features Grönefeld own proprietary movement and indicates hours and minutes on a sub-dial at 2 o’clock; large sub-dial for the dead seconds; power reserve indicator at 12 o’clock; and an innovative setting-winding indicator at 3 o’clock.

The results are as follow:
Gronefeld 29.0% – 1st place
Patek Philippe 23.1% – 2nd place
JLC 19.5% – 3rd place
Lange 18.1% – 4th place
Vacheron 6.8% – 5th place
Baume & Mercier 3.4% – 6th place